PDA

View Full Version : personalize Ubuntu installer?

youbunt2
August 19th, 2007, 01:20 PM
I just installed Ubuntu on my amd computer and I'm totally new at this so go easy on me.:)

I was wondering if there is a program for Ubuntu that can personlize my entire system once for me so I never have to do any sort of customizations again. Like make an empty folder named "my pics" and place it in the area of the system where I like it. Empty genre folders for my music folders, my favourite taskbar settings and desktop settings get automatically set. My favourite themes get installed and set for my favourite browsers. Just anything to do with customizing is automatically done for me.

I realize I would have to do the settings once for the installer but after that if I ever have to change computers or reinstall I could just install this program and I'm ready to go.

Is there anything like what I just explained for Ubuntu?:confused:

raja
August 19th, 2007, 02:08 PM
You can use a program called reconstructor to make a customized Ubuntu live cd with a different theme and with more programs installed, etc. However, you cant save your directory structure.
If you have installed and set up everything, you can make an image of your hard drive so that you can get back to that state if you want to later. To do this, you can use a system rescue cd and partimage to do the image.

Diabolis
August 19th, 2007, 02:23 PM
You could make a script that will set everything and I think it will do all what you want. you write it was and then use it as many times as needed. Create a file with the extension .sh in your home folder, probably something like personalization.sh. Now assuming that the file is in your home folder. This command will make it executable.

chmod +x personalize.sh

Lets say you want to make 3 different folders in 3 different locations, so you'll script would look like this:

#!/bin/bash

#this will make a folder called "my pics" in your systems folder