PDA

View Full Version : How do I program in Emacs, Vim

coolblue
July 28th, 2005, 12:21 PM
I cant seem to understand any of the Emacs/Vim tutorials out there!
I'm a newbie and want to start programming in Vim/Emacs.

Now I typed some code in Vim/Emacs...now how do I compile it?
And I hope I can save my codes, right?

Can anyone knowing any one of these editors give me tips etc. from their own experience?

On how to program in Vim/Emacs?

Thanks....I'm a TOTAL newbie to Emacs/Vim:)

dcraven
July 28th, 2005, 03:20 PM
I cant seem to understand any of the Emacs/Vim tutorials out there!
I'm a newbie and want to start programming in Vim/Emacs.

Now I typed some code in Vim/Emacs...now how do I compile it?
And I hope I can save my codes, right?

Can anyone knowing any one of these editors give me tips etc. from their own experience?

On how to program in Vim/Emacs?

Thanks....I'm a TOTAL newbie to Emacs/Vim:)

First of all, Vim and Emacs are very different editors. Narrowing down which one you are actually talking about would be a good start (I'm a heavy Vim user myself). Secondly, understand that these are editors, not compilers. There does exist, however, some extensions or scripts that make compiling easier or more "integrated". Thirdly, what language are you writing in? This bit of information would make explaining compilation methods a little simpler.

Cheers,
~djc

thumper
July 28th, 2005, 03:44 PM
I use emacs every day at work for editing source, but still use the command line for compilation (well most of it).

There is Meta-X compile, sometimes bound to C-c C-c depending on your mode.

You can find out if a given command is bound to a key press by asking for help on a function:
C-h f (Ctrl H is help, try Ctrl-H ?, very useful) compile

The compile emacs function asks for a command line to run. Instead of it always asking what to do you can bind the parameters like this (put it in your .emacs file):