PDA

View Full Version : I guess I'm the first in Evansville...

WheelDweller
August 13th, 2007, 09:52 PM
There's not a lot of Linux here, but I'm inclined to stay to take care of Mom. I started a Linux User Group once upon a time, but then moved off to Chicago a few times. Others are doing that, now.

I'm most interested in finding Linux work...any chances? I'm a sysadmin, not a programmer, though I know how to script...

irish_flu
August 14th, 2007, 04:24 AM
I'm a sysadmin myself, buddy. You can find work for sure, but it sure helps if you're willing to do some Windows stuff as well.

Ask around, maybe at the U of E? You might also check with Windows-centric "IT Services" companies, too; I bet many of them have a business or corporate client that uses/prefers Linux, and would like to be able to provide service to them.

irish_flu
August 14th, 2007, 04:29 AM
PS don't forget to look online for gigs, too. I telecommute these days, and it's great. My office is a 14-hour drive away from my house. :)

simon.a.ruiz
August 15th, 2007, 01:29 AM
Finding Linux work is still not exactly an easy thing, but make yourself a part of communities and mailing lists, and the information will come to you.

I got my last job via the Ubuntu Education community, for example.

I know the Hoosier Education Computer Coordinators' mailing list pretty regularly sees job postings, if you're looking for technical work in Indiana schools. <http://hecc.k12.in.us/list.aspx>

DanielDunn
August 15th, 2007, 07:34 PM
Hello WheelDweller - there are a few of us crazies from the Evansville area... I live in Newburgh :)

caricc
August 20th, 2007, 03:04 AM
not really......I'm here in boonville/chandler area......

aaron.dunlap
August 26th, 2007, 07:22 PM
I'm also in Evansville. Programmer for AGF downtown, hoping to someday move into a Linux Admin position. Would love to be part of the LoCo!

jawbreaker
September 9th, 2007, 01:17 PM