PDA

View Full Version : Is there a fun way to learn a programming language?

jgrabham
August 12th, 2007, 06:08 PM
Im bored, but looked at a page on C++ and nearly collapesed with boredom, how can I learn a language and have fun at the same time?

Or is that impossible?

Lord Illidan
August 12th, 2007, 06:15 PM
I am in almost the same state as you are..except that in my case it's c#.

What I am doing is skipping most of the chapter in the book, and doing just the excersises...looking back at the book when I get stuck..and doing it just for the challenge...sometimes it gets addictive...othertimes you need a break and come on the forums, as I am doing.

I am using Deitel's How to Program C#...too much Visual C# stuff, but I am getting on..with Mono on Linux :P

sumguy231
August 12th, 2007, 06:32 PM
Maybe you could start with a lighter, interpreted language like Python where you can get going a little faster.

BobCFC
August 12th, 2007, 06:50 PM
I started programming as a kid. It was always games and graphics that spurred me on.

Look for some tutorials on game programming such as gamedev.net and try to code some cool demos of graphical effects. They can start off very small such as Plasma effects that you can learn in an afternoon.

Try looking at other peoples code. Even start by copy and paste. Then change one variable and run the program to see what difference it makes. Then make more changes until you understand it.

It takes many years but if you enjoy something you can master it and then you will be top of the class easily, because your classmates will be doing boring business stuff like databases instead of graphics and their hearts wont' be in it.

argie
August 12th, 2007, 07:04 PM
Answer: Ruby
Reason: This book: http://poignantguide.net/ruby/chapter-1.html

bruce89
August 12th, 2007, 07:12 PM
I'm doing C instead.

Wolki
August 12th, 2007, 07:17 PM

What I wanted to post. Very entertaining book. :)