PDA

View Full Version : Starting College

Phalax
August 12th, 2007, 06:02 PM
Well starting off college this year and was wondering if there are any other kids in college using Ubuntu and how good is it to use for college. I look at it this way all I will probably be doing is writing reports, essays, projects here and there, research, surfing the web, and email so I felt that instead of wasting $100-$300 for a windows OS...to do the same thing, I am just going to use Ubuntu. Just I am still new to Linux and learning everyday about new things. I screwed up my system a bunch of times from typing in wrong commands or exploring just don't want to be at college when that happens :) Ubuntu is kinda difficult to work out a problem once you caused it. And I would call the University that I will be attending, but half the people there have know clue, never can reach the tech department, and I will not see my Professors till I get to the University. They don't tell us anything till we arrive, it's a Military Academy so just wanted to here from other people's experiences.

Thank you guys a lot.

in_flu_ence
August 12th, 2007, 07:14 PM
I have been using ubuntu for almost 2 years for my academic work. SO far so good. Probably just some small incompatibility between windows and Linux (e.g. powerpoint slides or some webcast tools).

I have been in the scientific research so Linux offer more benefit than disadvantages. Not sure if that works out the same in a military institute. I suppose they also use alot of *nix code (probably not open source but still based on the same root).

hardyn
August 12th, 2007, 07:31 PM
i am finishing my degree pretty quickly, i have been using ubuntu almost full time for the past 2 years and my experience, unfortunately, you will HAVE to dual boot windows. if you are in an arts program, you probably will get away just fine with linux (military college im betting your not taking an arts program).