PDA

View Full Version : The Official Ubuntu Book - Edition Changes

csimons
August 11th, 2007, 10:15 PM
Earlier this year I bought the first edition of the Official Ubuntu Book, and recently found that a second edition has already hit the scene. Since there is no "Look Inside" feature for this edition available on Amazon.com, I was wondering if anyone here knows what significant changes or new sections were added?

fluteflute
August 15th, 2007, 02:21 PM
I believe it was updating it for fiesty rather than dapper

YMS_1975
September 18th, 2007, 01:01 AM
Hey folks,

Newbie to the whole Ubuntu/Linux scene (but loving what I've seen thus far).

I'm looking at buying the Official Ubuntu Book (Second Edition). Has anybody here read the second edition book? How is it? Would you recommend it for a complete novice?

I just switched from Microsoft's Windows Vista to Ubuntu and I'm finding great difficulties with things like how to use Terminal. From what I can gather, it's the equivalent of the MS-DOS shell (but then again, what do I know?; hence my need for this book!)

Anyways...all I want to know is this:

1) Is this book geared towards Ubuntu 7.04?
2) Is it good for the complete beginner/novice?
3) Will it discuss items like webcam installations? (I've got a Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000 and despite reading the threads on this awesome site I can't get it work! Damnit! I'm having trouble installing programs like Camorama, EasyCam, Etc. because I'm used to GUI's for installation programs and not only that but I'm finding Camorama has several files that you can download and I'm not sure which one to download/install).

I'd really like to get a book that'll help me ease out of the MS Windows platform and gear up for Ubuntu. I don't know why, but Ubuntu takes me back to my OS/2 Warp days (the good feeling I got from running a stable OS!)

Dan400Man
September 25th, 2007, 11:03 PM