PDA

View Full Version : Printeranywhere for Linux

salefish
August 8th, 2007, 11:50 PM
I would like to know if anyone has successfully gotten the program Printeranywhere to work on Ubuntu?
I gave Wine a shot , unsuccessfully, though my fault since I don't know what I'm doing.
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I have installed it on my laptop and find it very easy to use, easier than Windows. Though I have been using the program Printeranywhere to print from my laptop on my home desktop. This program is absolutely essential to the productivity of my laptop.
If anyone has made it work or can give me a tutorial on how to make it work I would be very appreciative.
BarrynTheresa at gmail

salefish
August 14th, 2007, 02:25 AM
Well, I know some other people would like to use this program also. If you read this and would also like to be able to use the program Printeranywhere please post here, so I don't feel like a lone dog.
I also would appreciate any comments at all, even if you just have an idea of where to start.

HermanAB
August 14th, 2007, 02:31 AM
Well, you probably don't want that.

The combination of Samba and CUPS make any printer look like a networked postscript printer. So if your printer is hooked to your Linux machine, then you can print from any Windows machine without installing a special driver. Any postscript driver will work.

I always use an Apple Laserwriter II driver in Windows, since it starts with 'a' which puts it at the top of the list and all versions of Windows has it.

'Hope that helps!

Herman

bwtranch
August 14th, 2007, 02:37 AM
I have personally never heard of it. I'm off to googleit.

bwtranch
August 14th, 2007, 02:40 AM
Looks a little too microsloppy to me :)

DoctorMO
August 14th, 2007, 03:56 AM
Linux already contains all the tools needed to set this sort of thing up; if you want to use it over a local network you can use cups (I wouldn't use smb print sharing) cups comes with networking.