PDA

View Full Version : Kubuntu vs Ubuntu on Feisty

timohnani
August 8th, 2007, 10:42 AM
Hi guys,

I recently installed Kubuntu (Feisty) and so far I'm loving it. I've had a couple of problems which I have managed to solve thanks to the help around here. I'm a newbie even though I've previously tried Mandrake/Mandriva. I've always "sided" with KDE. No particular reason, it just seemed smoother and easier to use than GNOME.

However it seems that there are many more users of Ubuntu than Kubuntu. I just registered on the Ubuntu Counter and the statistics show that there are 6 times more Ubuntu users than Kubuntu users. So I was wondering why this is. Can anybody enlighten me?

I usually post my problems on the ubuntu forum and get help. Usually (understandably) this comes with advice from using Ubuntu which does not always make things easy to understand in Kubuntu.

The reason I use Ubuntu instead of the Kubuntu forum is because the Kubuntu forum seems to be so much smaller (again implying there are alot lets users of Kubuntu).

So why does the majority use Ubuntu? Should I consider changing? If you use Ubuntu, why did you choose it instead of Kubuntu?

Timo

dptxp
August 8th, 2007, 11:14 AM
Gnome is very well organized and is simple to navigate. As far as looks, you can always change themes, remove top panel, have a nice wallpaper etc. I prefer a few icons on the top panel for the mostly used programs.

It is basically personal taste. I tried PCLINUXOS, KNOPPIX, SIMPLYMEPIS etc. but did not like them because I could not get used to KDE feel. The best KDE I have seen so far (default log is Gnome) is on Ubuntu (it becomes Kubuntu) on my laptop.

KDE has a few more tools, but normal user hardly needs them.

stuh84
August 8th, 2007, 11:25 AM
Best KDE implementation I've seen so far is Sabayon, mainly because it doesn't look much like KDE.