PDA

View Full Version : Looking for groups and or users in north AL

PuckStopper31
August 6th, 2007, 11:50 PM
I just wanted to take a minute and introduce myself. I am a professional software developer (Java and C++) in Decatur / Huntsville, AL looking for other Ubuntu users and groups in the area.

Best Regards,

PS.

crane
August 7th, 2007, 07:50 AM
As Far as Ubuntu, the only group I know is this one (the LoCo)
As far as Linux User groups there is LUNA (Linux Users of North Alabama) (http://luna.huntsville.al.us/). From What I understand they have a pretty active mailing list,

PuckStopper31
August 8th, 2007, 10:18 PM
Thank you Crane,

Much appreciated. I'll hunt them up.

PS

TRGarner
April 5th, 2008, 12:51 PM
puckstopper,
your not alone in Alabama. Returning linux user with ubuntu here. I'm from the decatur area, hoping to find some others out here as well. :guitar:

crane
April 6th, 2008, 01:18 AM
Welcome back to the Linux side of things!

LT1Caprice57L
May 24th, 2008, 01:24 AM
Kinda late to the game - I'm over here in Florence. Not terribly far.

Redneo
July 17th, 2008, 03:55 AM
I didn't know the Ubuntu LoCos I was thinking the Lugs were the ones to goto for linux stuff. I'm in the Morgan county area

michaelramm
July 17th, 2008, 04:06 AM
Ubuntu LoCo are ubuntu specific. We welcome anyone from any distro family, but our focus is the spread of Ubuntu throughout Alabama.

LUGs are more generally linux users, of any distribution.

Hope that helps,
Michael

Redneo
July 17th, 2008, 04:17 AM
I was listening to Fresh Ubuntu and they were talking about the LoCo. Do you have any local meetings like if some of you live close to each other?

sgtslwilson
August 21st, 2008, 02:47 PM
Talladega here. I just switched over to Ubuntu. Windows is completely gone from my hdd.

So far pretty straight forward. Any problems I've had so far have been solved by just reading the forum here.

Anyway, this is fun. Brings me back to the old times of DOS.