PDA

View Full Version : Hello---This is my first cup of ubuntu --kubuntu actually

creedog
August 5th, 2007, 06:50 PM
Hello, This is my first post the the forum and my 2nd week running ubuntu.. for the last few years I have been running red hat as its more practical for learning purposes as Red Hat is pretty much the industry standard.

FYI .. I am a Unix/Linux admin.. close to the Jr. level but learning fast.

Anyway. after kicking myself in the pants for weeks at a time trying to get 3d acceleration working on Fedora... I finally was able to get it working by rolling back to fedora 5.. but never being able to get beryl working....I gave up and switched to kubuntu.

I fell in love the first time that I typed ' sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and was greeted with the helpful message that gedit was not installed but I could install it by typing "sudo apt-get install gedit". Not that I did not know that but I was surprised to find that the OS was so helpful.

Anyway - beryl is pretty cool too.

Now what should I try to get into on my fresh install.

jnorthr
August 5th, 2007, 07:07 PM
Just for laughs you can start getting the sound to work. Most new people have a lot of problems getting their codecs installed and working in order to listen to .mp3's and watch dvds. That will give you a fair intro to installing. Stick with apt-get or synaptics but don't mix and match as they are not interchangable and will baulk if you try to use them together.

And, BTW, welcome aboard ):P

creedog
August 5th, 2007, 07:19 PM
Sound it working -- got mp3 support and mpg and wmv .
Still looking for a good audio player. Amarok does not seem to want to play mp3s. It tell me that I have no support and then asks if I want to install it and then it hangs.

starcraft.man
August 5th, 2007, 07:43 PM
Sound it working -- got mp3 support and mpg and wmv .