PDA

View Full Version : If websites use open source software, why do they never reveal their source?

altonbr
August 1st, 2007, 03:51 AM
If websites use open source software, why do they never reveal their source code? It's under the GPL to release source code when adding or editing software under the GPL, but not for people that USE the software. This makes sense of course and I'm not going to argue with why...

My question is, if millions use Python, PHP, Linux, Apache, Perl, MySQL, etc., how come no one ever releases source code of their websites?

I'm a Web Developer personally and wouldn't release my source code due to security risks but what else can people think of?

original_jamingrit
August 1st, 2007, 04:06 AM
Using open source software and releasing open source software are two different things. I'd assume that server-side scripts and stuff like that would be considered for private use, so they have no obligation to show us what's happening on their server.

Dr. C
August 1st, 2007, 04:33 AM
Most FLOSS licenses do not require the release on source code for websites. The Affero GPL does deal with this issue.

http://gplv3.fsf.org/agplv3-dd1-guide.html

Compare the AGPL with the GPL.

aysiu
August 1st, 2007, 04:36 AM
If it's a simple website, you can at least see the code, if not appropriate it. Control-U in Firefox lets you see the source HTML of the page you're on.

altonbr
August 1st, 2007, 12:58 PM
Most FLOSS licenses do not require the release on source code for websites. The Affero GPL does deal with this issue.

http://gplv3.fsf.org/agplv3-dd1-guide.html

Compare the AGPL with the GPL.

Thanks for the link! Good read.

See, I was thinking of releases my source code (almost purely for fun) for all of my websites. I would have a link at the bottom of every website saying "Source Code" and it would take users to my company's Trac system.