PDA

View Full Version : Ethical Question to the masses... (reselling computers and putting Ubuntu on them)

hiway
July 31st, 2007, 05:24 PM
I am a self employed computer technician. I provide residential and simple commercial support for basic users. I also work as an "E-Cycler" with a local company.

My question is this:

Does this community find any ethical issues or concerns with taking older systems recovered from large companies that have been decommissioned and loading Ubuntu onto them and offering to the public at a drastically reduced price and pointing them to this forum?

If I were a more unsavory sort, I wouldn't mention it, but I believe in what is being done with this software, and I would never want to tarnish the spirit of this community.

Uriel2006
July 31st, 2007, 05:41 PM
I am a self employed computer technician. I provide residential and simple commercial support for basic users. I also work as an "E-Cycler" with a local company.

My question is this:

Does this community find any ethical issues or concerns with taking older systems recovered from large companies that have been decommissioned and loading Ubuntu onto them and offering to the public at a drastically reduced price and pointing them to this forum?

IMHO less new hardware = less industry process = less pollution.

That's fine.

If hardware becomes your property in some way, why you should no?

Uriel

drascus
July 31st, 2007, 06:13 PM
Yeah I don't see a problem with it at all. Why do you think there is a ethical problem in charging for your service??? I think it is perfectly fine. It is free as in freedom not as in gratis. The Ubuntu program itself is free gratis to all. However if you are performing a valuable service there is no reason why you shouldn't get paid for that work. Good luck!!!

aysiu
July 31st, 2007, 06:16 PM