PDA

View Full Version : Newbies: Are you new to Linux? How have you used it?

Omnios
July 22nd, 2005, 11:59 PM
Hi I started using Linux when Ubuntu 5.04 came out and have learn't a lot from these forums and think Linux is great. However on another forum someone brought up that there realy is not huge amounts of new Linux users and Linux marketshare is only like 5%. So being curios I decided to make a post with a poll to see how many fairly new users using Linux be it dual boot or Linux as there main os. Please post your comments, experiences and suggestions.

EDIT: RE POLL! The first 3 choices of the poll are for how long you have used linux for and the last 3 question on how you use it. You may check off more than one check box allowng you to enter how long you have used it as well as you os choices.

aysiu
July 23rd, 2005, 12:18 AM
I wasn't sure what to pick. It's actually my second try at Linux, and I've been using it for only three months.

suelovell
July 23rd, 2005, 12:31 AM
Hi -

We started using Linux this summer when my oldest son went away for a summer job. When using XP, we were always having to ask him for help to get rid of Trojan horses, etc. even though we used FireFox and had virus utilities on. He insisted that Linux would be more stable for us, so we switched.

This is on a family computer where we have all kinds of people using it, including a 9 year old. No more problems with viruses following our 9 year home from his game sites!

Sue Lovell

matthew
July 23rd, 2005, 12:33 AM
I'm a long-time computer user. Started with the old Radio Shack TRS-80 Color Computer (model 1...the silver one for those who remember) with 4 k RAM and a tape drive. Been through various flavors of DOS, Unix and whatever Mac OS was around in the computer lab when I was in college (15 years ago), Windows 3.1, 98, Me and XP.