PDA

View Full Version : How can I contribute?

samb0057
July 27th, 2007, 05:09 PM
I want to contribute. I am a very experienced web designer with PHP/MySQL however I know nothing about compiled languages like C/C++ so I can't really contribute directly to Ubuntu software. However I have hosting with unlimited domains, and I'll design and provide for free any site I can that will help the Ubuntu community.

What is a free Ubuntu-related website that you would use? All ideas are welcome, any idea that gets decent response, I will make and host it and never charge people to use it!

Any ideas?

nichipet
July 27th, 2007, 05:30 PM
A catalog (perhaps as a wiki) of errors from (K)(X)Ubuntu installation and software would be nice. Most of the posts on here are, understandably, about errors and a website where errors can be looked up would make troubleshooting easier to do. Maybe there is something like that out there that I am just not aware of yet.

If it's set up as a wiki and you start a thread on here about it existing, members could start filling in how they fixed different errors and tricky situations.

samb0057
July 27th, 2007, 05:32 PM
That was actually the one idea I was considering, I'll definitely think about that. So basically just a DB of user errors and then user-submitted troubleshooting help?

ZacDavis
July 27th, 2007, 05:39 PM
I kinda had this idea the other day of "blogbuntu". It is a blog network made up of blogs whose topics relate to Ubuntu. i.e.: "Ubuntu How-Tos","Ubuntu Gamer","Ubuntu News", LoCo Blogs, "Ubuntu Community News", blogs about open source in general. Maybe you could do a CMS for them and link them all up at a central site that aggregated them and had forums? I really don't know the amount of work that would entail, but I'm just throwing out an idea for you.

Sayers
July 27th, 2007, 05:41 PM
That sounds like a good idea.

samb0057
July 27th, 2007, 05:42 PM
so basically a bunch of blogs thrown together, with one main index?

samb0057