PDA

View Full Version : About programming

kristalsoldier
July 27th, 2007, 02:54 PM
Hi...

I have a question that is related to computing/ programming and was not sure where to post it. So, if this post is out of place - Mods/ admin, will you please move it to where you think it is relevant? Thanks.

OK. Here is the question:

I have no mentionable background in programming. I have heard it being said (and have read) that programs can be and should be 'elegant'. What does this mean? What does 'elegance' mean in the context of computer programs?

Thanks and apologies for the obtuseness of this request!

igknighted
July 27th, 2007, 02:58 PM
There is a proper, thorough method of doing things in computer programming, and then there is a "quick and dirty" way. Think about how many web developers are standards compliant and build sites to the W3C spec, but some just "build for IE". The W3C compliant site is elegant, while the "made for ie" site is taking the lazy shortcut route.

Another aspect of an elegant program is a lack of excess code. While one could certainly develop very elaborate algorithms to create a simple counting program, the simplest algorithim that does the job properly is always the best, or most elegant choice.

LaRoza
July 27th, 2007, 03:02 PM
I have no mentionable background in programming. I have heard it being said (and have read) that programs can be and should be 'elegant'. What does this mean? What does 'elegance' mean in the context of computer programs?

Thanks and apologies for the obtuseness of this request!

"Elegant" can also be undesireable, like with factorials. There are two short ways to calculate factorials, one uses loops and another uses recursion. The recursive method is very elegant, but has a higher overhead than a loop. If that doesn't make sense, don't worry. Basically "elegant" is finding a short way to do something that looks more complicated.

rjfioravanti
July 27th, 2007, 03:04 PM