PDA

View Full Version : Time management for Ubuntu fan

sebast
July 25th, 2007, 02:46 AM
Hi,

Weird questions you may say, but I'll go on and ask anyway.

I'm a 20 years old student in Advertising currently working on a companies website 40 hours/week 'till the start of school.

I'm training for a marathon that is in about 9 month and starting a little Linux/Ubuntu business (solutions-linux.org) in my region to offer in home services to those who want to make the switch.

I also plan to learn a lot of technical things in subjects like linux itself (for which I'm pretty far from being en expert yet), python, php, apache, bash scripting, javascript, css, xml, ...

My problem is that I can't fit all those things in my schedule. I never watch TV and when I'm not with my friends of working, I'm on those projects. I would also like to help people on the forum, mailing lists and IRC, but barely find the time just to ask questions, not to answer some. I feel like I don't give back to the community doing this.

It also takes me a long time reading my technical books and finishing my website (too long). One thing that takes a lot of my time is reading what's going on with the FOSS world several times a day on sites like OSNews, slashdot and Digg, but it seems I can't live without knowing what's going on.

So my question is: how do you people manage to do your regular activities in life and learning complex technical stuff, reading and posting on mailing lists and forums at the same time? I see kids who can do everything with Linux, yet I struggle to find the time reading the books.

Thanks in advance.

HermanAB
July 25th, 2007, 02:52 AM
The difference is that some of us have been reading Unix books for 40+ years, but won't admit to it in public...
;)

23meg
July 25th, 2007, 02:52 AM
Have you heard of GTD (http://www.davidco.com/what_is_gtd.php)? Do some research online if you haven't; you may benefit from it.