PDA

View Full Version : Where's the debug function?

w1nD
July 21st, 2007, 10:33 PM
Hello everyone,

I am brand new to the world of Ubuntu, but I am interested in learning all the aspects of this wonderful OS.

I downloaded Geany and wrote a simple program, but I don't seem to find the Debug function for it! On my Windows Vista computer, I use Visual Studio 2005 and I debug my C++ programs, but I can't seem to find it on Geany.

Can someone tell me where it is, or recommend another program?

Thanks!

Paul820
July 21st, 2007, 11:31 PM
Geany doesn't have the debugger built in, to debug you will have to drop to the terminal to do that using gdb. You could try another IDE if you like, there is a sticky at the top of the programming section for recommended IDE's. Codeblocks is good, integrated with the gdb debugger so you can debug from within that. I have not really used any other IDE, so if anyone can recommend another one with a debugger?

ddrichardson
July 21st, 2007, 11:33 PM
I don't do much in the way of graphical programming, but gdb is useful.

vambo
July 21st, 2007, 11:37 PM
gdb works like a dream under emacs. Just remember to compile with the -g flag

w1nD
July 22nd, 2007, 07:22 AM
Ok, so GDB it is.

How do I use it?

I mean, how do I access GDB? Do i have to type anything in the terminal?

I went and downloaded GDB and it said that I had a later version installed... So, where is this GDB in Ubuntu and how do i use it?

Thanks!

the_unforgiven
July 22nd, 2007, 08:08 AM
gdb is basically a command line general purpose debugger that is written/supported by the free software foundation.

For the following discussion, let's assume that the executable binary that your compiler generated is called HelloWorld (to represent the basic "Hello, World!" program).