PDA

View Full Version : What to do with server?!

m3lt
July 21st, 2007, 05:53 AM
So...I'm a complete newb with Ubuntu. I've downloaded it several times, installed then uninstalled after a few weeks. MS has me...Trying to break free. Anyway, I ended up with a pretty nice spare laptop. I am installing 7.04 server on it as I type. I am doing this as a learning experience mostly. My question...

What can I do with it?

That may seem like a silly question...but again this is merely to learn. Not just linux but anything that can be learned while actively using the machine. Whether that be on the server it self or remotely.

Any ideas? Keep in mind I am a newb...ie "Write a script in perl to measure the circumference of the world!" will not work well.:) But seems time consuming.

Thanks!

bbzbryce
July 21st, 2007, 07:16 AM
1. Make a simple file server for streaming videos to an xbox you may have.
2. Install apache and make a simple local website.

There are tons of things to do, but why bother if you have no need for them?

meierfra
July 21st, 2007, 07:20 AM
You might enjoy this thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=387598

m3lt
July 21st, 2007, 07:40 AM
1. Make a simple file server for streaming videos to an xbox you may have.
2. Install apache and make a simple local website.

There are tons of things to do, but why bother if you have no need for them?

75% of the applications on my windows machine are never used...I just enjoy tinkering. I guess its a hobby.

Which is why I figured server is next step. I have successfully setup and run several ubuntu machines but I am just looking for a new challenge. My mind is stagnant without something stirring it :D Now I just need to find something to actually DO with it.

To meierfra: