PDA

View Full Version : Spit and Polish?

Fitzy_oz
July 20th, 2007, 03:23 AM
I have been using Linux as my only operating system for well over 18 months, and forthe most part it has been ubuntu. And to be frank, I love it and wouldn't use any other operating system on my home pc if you paid me to. That being said it has cropped up in discussion in a number of places that Ubuntu and Linux in general lack the aesthetic refinements seen in any major release of windows. In short, the Linux desktop looks more or less the same from release to release...

I understand that Ubuntu is released every 6 months and that the changes are mostly under the hood and small but excellent improvements but I wonder would Ubuntu benefit from a touch up on the desktop annually or bi-annually? By touch ups i mean changes to the default window borders, a customized Icon set and some nicely crafted default fonts?

Would this help generate a bit of hype and excitement or just confuse users further?

Let me know what you think....

Zzl1xndd
July 20th, 2007, 03:27 AM
Thats really more in the realm of Gnome to do that as the DE is there's that being said KDE is moving in some interesting ways and I think you will see Gnome do that as well shortly just give it some time.

strabes
July 20th, 2007, 04:31 AM
I wonder would Ubuntu benefit from a touch up on the desktop annually or bi-annually?

Actually biannually means that it happens twice every year (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/biannual). For example, ubuntu is release biannually. However, This page (http://www.askoxford.com/asktheexperts/faq/aboutwords/bimonthly) claims that its use is ambiguous and should be clarified with "twice a year" or "every two years."

Just thought I'd point this out. I assume you meant every year or every two years, correct?

Fitzy_oz
July 20th, 2007, 08:29 AM