PDA

View Full Version : Help me not make a fool of myself

Goliath!
July 20th, 2007, 02:49 AM
I am new to open source communities and social norms. Could you help me not make a fool of myself?

In The Cathedral and the Bazaar, Eric S. Raymond, 1993, p208, Raymond says:

Don't use a silly, grandiose, user ID or screen name . . . Concealing your identity behind a handle is a juvenile and silly behavior characteristic of crackers, warez, d00dz, and other lower life forms. Hackers don't do this; they're proud of what they do and want it associated with their real names. So if you have a handle, drop it. In the hacker culture it will only mark you as a loser.

Is this still true, almost 15 years later? Is it true in the Ubuntu community? When I registered on ubuntuforums.org I chose my name because it was literally the first thing that entered my mind. I appended the bang because goliath was already taken. Was this a mistake?

I can't help thinking that back in 1993 the internet was a very very different place. In 2007 I don't want to disclose my identity online because I'm truly afraid of the weirdos and other dangerously psychotic people out there. I'm afraid of accidentally offending some one online and later finding them on my doorstep with a shotgun. Not only do I have a family to think of, but also I'm rather fond of my life.

As I explore the forums I don't see many (any?) people using their real names. Is there a secret cabal of inner hackers laughing at all of us with handles?

Any comments?

23meg
July 20th, 2007, 02:59 AM
Hacker culture as described by Raymond is mostly absent from web forums. Elsewhere, such as mailing lists, Launchpad, the wiki and IRC, you'll see that almost everyone who contributes to Ubuntu uses their real names.

tbroderick
July 20th, 2007, 03:13 AM