PDA

View Full Version : UK Broadband ISP

The Grum
July 18th, 2007, 12:47 AM
Hi.

Im currently with Tiscali who, after a year or so of resonablly good service, have decided to implement an "enhanced browser experience". This is a DNS hijack a la Verisign where they intercept mistyped web addresses and post a page full of ads. To make matters worse, this system also randomly redirects legit websites as well (slashdot!).

Can anyone in the UK suggest a decent ISP to switch to?

Thanks in advance.

Voynix
July 18th, 2007, 01:08 AM
I have been using BT for several years. Notice that some ISPs implement fair use policies that filter/restrict some type of downloads. BT, for example, will throttle your torrents from 9am to 1am (down to 5-10kB/s) if you are a heavy downloader. AOL has cut off two of my friends due to high download traffic, Sky also implements a fair use policy ... I am pretty happy with BT despite their linux unfriendliness.

Voynix

ScarletPimpernell
July 18th, 2007, 01:26 AM
newnet are good, not cheap though.

diesel1
July 18th, 2007, 01:29 AM
I have used Demon for 12 years.

I started with them on 56k dialup, then tried Zen for broadband while keeping my Demon 56k account.

After 5 months I found Zen did not offer a password server, this meant I had to give their operatives my new mail/log on passwords!

So I changed my Demon account to broadband, keeping my static ip and email address.

They use standard connection settings so mix well with GNU/Linux.

Down time has always been when they have specified, only ever for major network upgrades and never longer than an hour or 2, perhaps 3 times in 12 years.

They are not the cheapest but having tried to help friends with AOL, Sky, NTL/Virgin Media and other providers when things don't work, I think they are worth the price.