PDA

View Full Version : At what point is someone no longer a beginner?

Ithyn
July 17th, 2007, 08:40 PM
I've used Ubuntu for a while and I've restricted myself from the GUI as much as possible to reduce my dependence on it (I still had to switch to tty7 to register for this forum), and I know the file and directory commands, how to move between folders in the terminal, and using the wildcards to manipulate files efficiently. I also know about manipulating standard input/output with > >> and < and using pipes and filters. I can install programs from tarballs, and I use Nano to code with Python (which I'm still learning).

At this point I'm not really sure where to go next to advance my knowledge of Linux.

Rocket2DMn
July 17th, 2007, 08:47 PM
First off, there is nothing wrong with the GUI, but learning the CLI is definitely a big deal. Using X is great, you just gotta know how to get by for periods of time without it (like when it fails). GUIs were made to make life easier and more intuitive.
As far as your next step, it's really up to you. Getting truly comfortable and knowledgeable just takes time. Keeping an eye on these forums can help you to recognize problems that tend to pop up and you can check the solutions people come up with - some are generic, others are rather creative. Observing the problem solving process can help you to understand the basics of the system better and therefore be able to manipulate them.

Experiment with new software, try some different hardware if you can. Make sure you have backups, then don't be afraid to experiment. You will learn more than you recognize just be fiddling around with new and different things.

aysiu
July 17th, 2007, 08:49 PM
Help new users. That's how you advance your knowledge of Linux.

Helping yourself, there's only so many problems you can fix (and usually pretty quickly).