PDA

View Full Version : My 14 year old brother - converted!

kiv
July 17th, 2007, 03:27 PM
I have been using Ubuntu (single booting) for 6 months months now so I'm still fairly new to the scene.
However, I love Ubuntu. I love the freedom, I love the fact I feel like I own my pc again!

Well last night, after coming home from work I found my 14 year old brother stressing out over his windows box (again). He is not a computer geek but has a good idea of whats he's doing and whats going on when he is using a computer.

I have shown him Ubuntu in the past, and he understands and appreciates the concept, and even likes Ubuntu itself. I have mentioned switching to him in the past but he uses the pc alot for gaming so I didn't push it.. but last night I thought I'd have one last go.

I turned on my pc and Ubuntu Studio booted in to all its magicalness and compiz fusion graced my eyes with its beauty. I showed my brother, "Jack", and told him to play with Ubuntu for an hour, and not to worry about breaking anything.

I came back an hour later and he was still sat looking through all the menus of Ubuntu. Before I had a chance to say anything he turned around and said,

"Get rid of windows now, I never want to see it again!"

I told him that it would not be possible to play all of his games on it, but he did not care.
I explained that I could partition his drive, to which he replied,

"No, I just want to use ubuntu."

I told him that he could buy another hard drive for about £30 and perhaps dual boot that way if ever he wanted to in the future.

Anyway, he wanted Ubuntu Studio - which doesn't have a GUI installer like the vanilla Ubuntu. I gave him the Ubuntu Studio CD and stood back to watch my 14 year old brother install his first ever Linux Distro with no problems at all!

He will be joining these forums this evening and I'll point him to this thread - I'm sure you will all give him a warm welcome!

Thanks guys.

LaRoza
July 17th, 2007, 03:29 PM