PDA

View Full Version : Age limits on technology?

Turboaaa2001
July 16th, 2007, 10:04 PM
I currently work in sales and 40% of our profit come from cell phone activations. We also sell prepaid wireless as well but make almost nothing on them.

With that said, I had a lady come in asking for a "realistic cell phone" for her 2 year old son. I sold her a $19.99 USD prepaid. I might as well have had it stolen since we made nothing on it.

The bottom line is, why buy an actuall cell phone for a 2 year old when you could get a toy for $1 USD next door? She said she wanted something more realistic, but what the $*%@!!!

I know I will put together a notebook computer for my son as soon as he developes his motor skills (hes 3 months old and standing up) but I would not get him a cell phone. The computer will have software that will make noises and respond when he bangs on the keyboard, but a cell phone would be lost an any kid. They would like it for 1 day and forget about it. I would go as far as sayiong they would forget to use it if they got into trouble if the phone was actually usable.

What do you have to say about this? What electronics should kids have or not have based on being able to either learn from or appreciate them?

Nezing
July 16th, 2007, 10:37 PM
I do draw the line.My seven year old son can use a Play Station,better than "dad".I tend to lose the plot.Well,that is my excuse.I wont let him use the pc.Are you crazy,he'd ruin my Ubuntu set up!! :o
No,seven is far too young to be exposed to cyberspace.There will be plenty of time,when he reaches eleven,and school work,"via the monitor",becomes the norm.Heck,my mom can use a pc with ease.Okey she has a laptop damn it!!
Mobile phones (cell phone),handhelds,pda's,Notebooks.The list goes on.I see people of all ages using them.Of course,you cannot avoid technology today,although it does not really affect me much.All I want is a plasma television,Blu-Ray Player,a squillion movies,and I will be happy.

:guitar: