PDA

View Full Version : Which laptop is best for linux?

coolblue
July 19th, 2005, 06:58 PM
Hi all

I have very little knowledge so I wanted to ask 2 simple questions:
1. What would be the best laptop to run Linux?
2. What would be the best distro for a laptop?

GUIDELINES

The whole idea behind these questions is COMPATIBILITY and EASE OF SETTING THINGS UP (like adsl ethernet broadband, display etc.)

Assume that the laptop would be used for common desktop activities like playing games, watching movies, creating spreadsheets, surfing etc.

The distro should be FREE for download currently. It may or may not be commercial. For example Suse 9.3 Pro is commercial but is FREE for download now.

Let me know the best solutions there are for newbies.
Hope u got my point.

Thanks

coolblue
July 19th, 2005, 07:00 PM
Forgot to ask another important question: Does any laptop company actually claim to support Linux? Bcoz stupid Acer declares "We do not support Linux"!

Thanks

BWF89
July 19th, 2005, 07:31 PM
They sell Laptops with the commercial Linspire preinstalled so it must run on the laptop pretty well. You can download the open source parts of it's code but I don't know if you can actually download and burn it to a DVD or CDR.

http://www.linspire.com/

somuchfortheafter
July 19th, 2005, 07:41 PM
toshibas are pretty linux friendly, what i use, notice the sig lol. I've heard wonderful things of ibms as well.

ninotob
July 19th, 2005, 07:57 PM
1. What would be the best laptop to run Linux?
2. What would be the best distro for a laptop?
The whole idea behind these questions is COMPATIBILITY and EASE OF SETTING THINGS UP (like adsl ethernet broadband, display etc.)
Thanks
Here's my experience w/ Ubuntu on laptops: