PDA

View Full Version : ClamAV Hell or Graduating from Synaptic to Add/Remove

keyboardashtray
July 15th, 2007, 04:16 AM
So how do programs graduate from the sloppy mess of Synaptic to the nice and tidy world of Add/Remove? Case in point: ClamAV - I mean, when you look at the LiveCD from within Windows, when you first burn it, ClamAV is mentioned, along with Firefox, etc. one of these great examples of the open source world. You get the feeling it would be on there already, and if not, at least in the Add/Remove that we are encouraged by Ubuntu (maybe not so much the community though) to use.

Well, not only is it not there, I don't think it's possible to have a painless installation through Synaptic, either. I'm new, but I know I checked all the right boxes for ClamAV there. And let me tell you something, I'm no computer expert - but I know plenty, plenty of people far worse than me, and they would just vomit if they even just saw that list through Synaptic - forget the fact that even if they checked all the right boxes they'd still be in hell getting it to work. Errors come up on install, then FreshClam doesn't work, files are missing, then when you can get it to update the definitions, well you don't have the most up-to-date install. ClamTK, the GUI for Clam AV (which, oddly enough, IS in Add/Remove) tells you you need to be at the root level, so you type in the Terminal command and it works once, tells you you are up to date, but on next restart of it you're back at square one.