PDA

View Full Version : FIC Neo1973 Phase One - Anyone tried/seen it?

Old Pink
July 12th, 2007, 07:00 PM
Was blogging about the FIC Neo1973 last night, first device to run the GNU/Linux based Openmoko platform, was wondering if anyone here had bought/used one? I know there's a few developers and coders here. :)

Would be interested in seeing more of it, looking forward to buying a Phase 2 public device. :)

Here's the blog post: http://www.mbhoy.com/11-07-2007/fic-neo1973-phase-one :)

chadlewis
July 12th, 2007, 07:14 PM
I ordered it the minute it was released, but it hasn't arrived yet. I received an order confirmation, but no ship confirmation.

I'm a software developer by trade, with a number of years in Windows Mobile and Palm OS. I've been wanting to get into open source development for a while now, and this device seems like a good way for me to do that. I don't have a whole lot of free time, so my plan for now is to port existing applications, either by modifying the existing gui or writing entirely new ones.

Old Pink
July 12th, 2007, 07:32 PM
I ordered it the minute it was released, but it hasn't arrived yet. I received an order confirmation, but no ship confirmation.

I'm a software developer by trade, with a number of years in Windows Mobile and Palm OS. I've been wanting to get into open source development for a while now, and this device seems like a good way for me to do that. I don't have a whole lot of free time, so my plan for now is to port existing applications, either by modifying the existing gui or writing entirely new ones.

Brilliant, be sure to post here with as much detail as humanely possible when it arrives. ;)

I'd be interested in talking to you about it for a blog post, once you've used it for a while, if that's OK? :)

Redache
July 12th, 2007, 10:49 PM