PDA

View Full Version : Looking for ways to improve my chances of getting into a good college

Warpnow
July 7th, 2007, 02:51 AM
I'm 17. Homeschooled (sorta), I really educate myself.

When I was a Freshman my dad died. I missed like 3 weeks of school straight. ****** up my grades pretty bad. Not to mention I felt like **** for almost 2 years.

I kind of took my education into my own hands. At the end of next school year is when I would have been graduating from traditional high school. I'll have at least 60 college credits and about a 3.5. My extra curriculars include:

-Finalist in 2 Film Festivals
-Directed my own Television Show which aired on cable in Dallas, Tx
-Ran a class business which, using $50, profited over $6000 in 2 months. When I took over the business it had lost money for 3 months.
-Finalist in 3 speech contests, persuasive speaking once, poetry twice.

You are all bright people from my experiences. Any ideas of how I can improve my chances of getting into a good college? I'm going to apply to Rice, no idea if I'll get in...because my application is going to look very odd. I imagine I can get some pretty good teacher reccomendations. I'm the kind of kid teachers ae impressed with usually.

Any ideas? I don't know if having 60 dual credit hours will help me or not when applying, think it will?

aysiu
July 7th, 2007, 03:04 AM
Read The Gatekeepers: Inside the Admissions Process of a Premier College by Jacques Steinberg (http://www.amazon.com/Gatekeepers-Admissions-Process-Premier-College/dp/0142003085/ref=sr_1_1/102-7765222-8088131?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1183773816&sr=8-1)

macogw
July 7th, 2007, 04:08 AM
You probably won't be able to transfer more than 60 credits. Some schools will go a few over, but my cousin was told by USC that if she turned in any more than 64 credits worth of classes she couldn't transfer there, so she had to leave off a few of her classes and retake them once she got there.

CautionaryX
July 7th, 2007, 05:53 AM