PDA

View Full Version : Some questions

loserboy
July 6th, 2007, 08:24 PM
Hey,
I was gonna make multiple posts since there are unrelated subjects here, but oh well.

First, are there any completely self taught python programmers that feel proficient with it even without formal training, or without learning other languages?

Secondly, does DarkBasic have any potential for making serious games or being a step towards making serious games?
I'm not interested in DarkBasic, but my friend has just signed up for some classes for it and he seems pretty excited. I was wondering if it can make use of opengl, or can be combined with python in any way.

The deal is I want to learn python, I bought "Learning Python" by O'reilly and I've been reading some tutorials online. Games aren't really my goal, but it would be cool to do anything useful at this point. any other recommendations for me?

People's opinions don't seem to be very high of DarkBasic, but honestly I'm just glad the guy is doing something besides wasting time (I hope he never sees this post)

bclark
July 6th, 2007, 09:14 PM
I've never even heard of DarkBasic.

As for Python, I taught it to myself and mainly use it as a quick and dirty tool for scripts at my job, but it can do a lot more.

If I were you I would just start writing anything in Python, to familiarize yourself with it.

pmasiar
July 6th, 2007, 09:28 PM
I cannot answer 1st question - I came to Python after more than dozen other languages... So let me tell you you guys have it *so* much easier than we did :-)

I don't know DarkBasic, but I would not expect it to be more than a niche fringe language.

If you want to program games, IMHO much sounder foundation for beginners would be pygames. Or if you don't mind Windows only, Game Maker (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_maker) is excellent system optimized to make games with little or no text editing (uses highly specialized GUI instead, and it is really simple and a lot of fun).