PDA

View Full Version : New Ubuntu user as of June

MementoMori
July 6th, 2007, 03:51 AM
Hey folks.

A friend of mine introduced me to Ubuntu and I've been trying to learn how to use it. I'm very used to Windows but am no virgin to messing with command line interfaces. Thus far, I'm liking it, though I've hit some bumps on the way that I hope to get around. I used to work a lot with DOS and am kinda-sorta familiar with C++, but haven't messed with Perl and Ubuntu would be my maiden voyage into Linux territory.

I've read the links posted for new users, particularly the Linux != Windows one many times, and I can say I'm patient even if I do have a bad sense of humor. :)

Me? I'm a college student from Georgia, and I love heavy metal, D&D, anime, RTS games and RPGs, kung fu movies and the martial arts. I'm also exceptionally lazy unless it comes to mucking around with the computer, so Linux ought to be right up my alley. :D

Glad to meet all of you, and I hope to learn more about this great operating system!

Please don't kill me if this isn't the place to post hellos. >.>

Extreme Coder
July 6th, 2007, 05:11 AM
Nice to meet you!

Is there any software you still need that you haven't installed?

NeoLithium
July 6th, 2007, 05:12 AM
Welcome to Ubuntu!

Saphira
July 6th, 2007, 07:04 AM
Welcome! What part of GA?

Atomic Dog
July 6th, 2007, 07:09 AM
Welcome! You'll find the people to be a friendly and helpful bunch.

bchaffin72
July 6th, 2007, 07:12 AM
Welcome. I hope you enjoy getting to know Ubuntu.

MementoMori
July 7th, 2007, 05:25 AM
Nice to meet you!

Is there any software you still need that you haven't installed?

Thanks everyone. :D