PDA

View Full Version : Hello, and my story into Ubuntu

Riel
July 5th, 2007, 09:38 PM
Well, since I am totally new to the whole Linux thing, I had a lot of experiences and troubles to start. I tell it in a short story, without the details. At this point, I am a very happy user. So if that's all you need to hear, stop reading already :D

First the Live-CD. My CD-rom drive was so ****** up, I wasn't able to boot a single on. Tried a lot. Was still using Windows XP, and found a program which made me boot to linux, and install from a server. Hmm. Had to move my whole computer to another room because my network cable was too short and I normally use wireless. No big deal, plugged it in, started and ... woo it really began to install. That took me .. 2 days of figuring out.

Well, I got booted in Linux, and wanted to get that Wireless back working. Some hours of spending this forum and figuring out why it didn't work (I have an Atheros (something like that) chipset and it should be no problem?) I found it was a stupid thing: The wireless modem used WPA, and I could only fill in WEP. So i switched the modem to WEP and whoo, all worked! Again, 2 days of struggeling for such a simple thing. But glad I could move the Computer back were it belongs :)