PDA

View Full Version : My linux project

tocky
July 5th, 2007, 09:18 PM
It's been awhioe since my computer crashed, and I've under this time been searching for a new computer. Under several weeks I've been researching and evaluating differnt rigs for my new computer. Since I'm just a student, with a summer job, I don't got much money to spend on my new computer, so I took the time to really think about what I want to use it for. After some thorough thinking I've come up with my desires for my new rig.

I will use it for the following three things;

3D
Audio
Work

And not only that but, I also wanted a system that is powerful and fully customizable for my needs, and I got the idea to make a Linux comp. So I've checked the internet for some information about supported hardware and this is what I've come up with so far. (I know some of the items are not supported)

GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4
Corsair XMS2-6400 TWIN2X2048
Samsung HD321KJ 320GB
MSI GeForce 8600GT HeatPipe
AMD Athlon64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+
Antec Case Performance One P150
LG Electronics GSA-H42LRBB
Samsung 226BW 22" Wide
ESI Maya 44 (soundcard)
ESI nEar04 (speakers)

approx: $2100

Hopefully I will get Linux Bios to work with this rig, since it should work flawlessly with the stated motherboard, and I hope that the rest of the components also will work great under Linux. If anyone has any recommendations on hardware, I appreciate it.

The choice of distro isn't finalized yet, this is the distros I'm considering; (in no perticular order, any help on this matter is highly appreciated)

Ubuntu Studio
Arch Linux
Fedora
openSuse
Gentoo

I really hope this goes well, since I've been very pleased with the experience I have got from Linux so far and I hope that it will continue so in the future. I were thinking on getting a Mac, but they are so expensive so that's when it really came down to make a pure Linux comp.

P.S

I will use almost entirely opensource software, a few exceptions here and there, but 99 % oss.