View Full Version : *woot* BERYL WORKS ON INTEL ONBOARD VIDEO CONTROLLER

Prometheus.172214
July 3rd, 2007, 09:38 PM
First the lapto specs :

Processor : 1.6 Ghz single core Pentium Mobile
Systemboard Chipset : Intel 915 Mobile Express
Memory : 512 Mb
Ubuntu Version : Feisty Fawn Base Installation For X86

Beryl was installed and Beryl and Emerald Themes Manager work perfectly here..... No system issues, no problems at all. . . . Here is what I did.

I use the GUI, since I am not very good with manual work via a terminal...

SYSTEM >> ADMINSTRATION >> SOFTWARE SOURCES >> THIRD PARTY.

ADD >>
deb http://ubuntu.beryl-project.org feisty main
and click OK. It will ask you to Reload the database and then tell you that the GPG key was not found. Don't worry.

Press ALT and F2 togethar and type terminal and click OK. Iit will launch a terminal . . . . copy and paste the code below and hit enter

wget http://ubuntu.beryl-project.org/root@lupine.me.uk.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add -

if it goes right, you should see some information about the download at the end....

Now type the next line of code into the same terminal

sudo apt-get update

This will update the database and will confirm the same. You need working Internet connections for all codes entered into the terminal....

Now, in the terminal, type the next code string

sudo apt-get install beryl-manager beryl-settings

This will download and install the Beryl Manager, it will prompt you for installation and when it does, hit Y and hit enter to start the download and installation of this package.

sudo apt-get install emerald emerald-themes
This will download and install the Emerald Theme Manager, it will prompt you for installation and when it does, hit Y and hit enter to start the download and installation of this package.

sudo apt-get install emerald-themes

This will download and install the themes for Emerald....

Great you are done with the work.

Now APPLICATIONS >> SYSTEM TOOLS >> BERYL MANAGER.