PDA

View Full Version : Why Linux doesn't grow

_stijn007
July 14th, 2005, 07:26 AM
Hi,

I found an interesting blog-entry (click) (http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/asa/archives/008499.html) on Slashdot about why FireFox had an enormous growth and Linux anything but that. The author discusses some possible causes such as loss of files and settings when you migrate, dependencies, confusion because of the many programs that in fact do the same and of course comfort: /home instead of 'My Documents'.

I have been using Ubuntu for a couple of months already and I also face most of these problems (except for the confusion). Even though there have already been some intiatives to solve the other problems (e.g. XPde) but these haven't broken through (yet). Are you people at Ubuntu working on these issues ?

Kind regards,

Stijn

kvidell
July 14th, 2005, 07:42 AM
Hi,

I found an interesting blog-entry (click) (http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/asa/archives/008499.html) on Slashdot about why FireFox had an enormous growth and Linux anything but that. The author discusses some possible causes such as loss of files and settings when you migrate, dependencies, confusion because of the many programs that in fact do the same and of course comfort: /home instead of 'My Documents'.

I have been using Ubuntu for a couple of months already and I also face most of these problems (except for the confusion). Even though there have already been some intiatives to solve the other problems (e.g. XPde) but these haven't broken through (yet). Are you people at Ubuntu working on these issues ?

Kind regards,

Stijn
/home is more like C:\Documents and Settings\$USER than My Documents
Gnome and KDE I believe create a Documents and Desktop directory in /home/ when prompted.

And it's not that hard to make them yourself if you want to.
I've also never had an issue with migrating settings.