PDA

View Full Version : The strangeness of the NVIDIA drivers

jamyskis
June 30th, 2007, 06:15 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for three years now. In this time there's been a concerted effort on the part of the Ubuntu team to make installing graphic drivers easier. I myself had been using the nvidia-glx (and recently, the nvidia-glx-new) packages for a while. And while they're intended to make things easier, I've never had anything but problems with them. The deb package neglects to run nvidia-xconfig after installation (so I have to do it myself, and it's a good job I know how to do this), and often the kernel modules are mismatched, and so I have to run dpkg-reconfigure to get my nv driver back. Not to mention the hassle I go through with removing nvidia-glx, removing the restricted modules, reinstalling the whole thing and hoping to God it works. Which it usually does after about an hour's work. Envy hasn't really sorted this problem out.

Recently I (re)discovered (I used to do it when I was a Mandrake user) the wonders of the method that was apparently so difficult. Download the NVIDIA driver from the NVIDIA website, /etc/init.d/gdm stop, chmod +x, run the driver, /etc/init.d/gdm restart. If I get a kernel update, I just reinstall, because the driver automatically creates a new kernel module.

Why is Ubuntu putting so much effort into trying to make graphics driver installation easier when the manual method is that simple?

Outrunner
June 30th, 2007, 06:19 AM
Unfortunately, the manual method doesn't work for everyone(read: me), so I guess it's good to have more than one way to do it

~LoKe
June 30th, 2007, 06:21 AM