PDA

View Full Version : Rant about C/C++ on linux...

AlexThomson_NZ
June 28th, 2007, 01:14 AM
Hi all, just a rant more than a query, but does anyone else out there agree with me that compiling C/C++ programs in Linux is getting overly complicated?

Now, I've got many years programming experience and am a Java certified programmer by trade, however I find myself stymied whenever I try anything with the whole configure, make nonsense. In fact I can't remember I successfully compiled a 3rd party application from source!

I've just tried to redo a simple C++ program I've made (a couple of source + header files, and a short 1 line command to compile and build it) using Anjuta 1.2.4a to try it out. Firstly it failed because gtkmm-2.0 was not found (no kidding- 2.4 has been out for a while now), apparently the latest 2.2 fixes this, but sure enough I couldn't compile it. grrr....

Out of curiousity I checked the empty (non-working) project it created:
34 files and directories in the parent directory
5 symlinked files
12+ configuration files
1 actual (ten line) program file

Now, I am aware this is probably more Glades doing rather than Anjuta, but whatever- I wonder how many budding code-gurus have been put off because of the unnecessary complexity?

I guess I'll be sticking to VI and g++ on the command line

</rant> (thanks for letting me get that off my chest! :P )

xtacocorex
June 28th, 2007, 01:22 AM
That is why you don't use an IDE to compile simple programs; you use a homebrew makefile.

As for big projects, it is important to have configure scripts to check to make sure libraries are installed.

This is why I'll never use an IDE unless I'm required to.

Paul820
June 28th, 2007, 01:54 AM