PDA

View Full Version : Open Source Business Model

Mark Erbaugh
June 26th, 2007, 06:03 PM
I really like the concept of Open Source Software.

I have been an independent computer consultant / software developer for about 20 years and would like to include support for Open Source Software in my business.

I'm trying to figure out how to make a living with 'free' software. I'm looking for business models of how small companies are making a living supporting Open Source software. Where I have an issue is how can I justify charging for a software package I develop when all the tools I use to develop that package are OSS. Still, I have bills to pay and my time should be worth something.

I know some larger companies develop products for sale based on tools the develop and then release to OSS, but I don't think that as a one-man operation, I can do that, although perhaps I could.

I'd appreciate any suggestions.

maniacmusician
June 26th, 2007, 06:19 PM

I have been an independent computer consultant / software developer for about 20 years and would like to include support for Open Source Software in my business.

I'm trying to figure out how to make a living with 'free' software. I'm looking for business models of how small companies are making a living supporting Open Source software. Where I have an issue is how can I justify charging for a software package I develop when all the tools I use to develop that package are OSS. Still, I have bills to pay and my time should be worth something.

I know some larger companies develop products for sale based on tools the develop and then release to OSS, but I don't think that as a one-man operation, I can do that, although perhaps I could.

Just because something is open source doesn't mean you can't charge for it. What you're really charging for is the binary that you distribute, and support (or updates, bugfixes, etc).