PDA

View Full Version : Could linux use a new WM?

@trophy
June 26th, 2007, 05:50 PM
So, I was talking with my boss at work here the other day, and we were wondering something regarding desktop environments.

Background: My boss is one of those rabid Apple fans, but also uses Linux at home for his mythtv boxes. I'm a Ubuntu guy. I use gnome because there's a lot I don't like about kde, but there's a lot I don't like about gnome, too. For instance, a lot of times when I put a CD in or insert my USB key, the icon for it will appear underneath another icon on my desktop. As a developer myself, I find it relatively hard to believe that finding an open area for the new icon to appear is all that hard.

Anyways, our conversation revolved around the fact that there really isn't a de that we really like. And how Apple took next, completely redid the de part of it, and came up with something that is actually really good (anti-apple people just cool it for a moment... I'm not suggesting we copy Aqua). I was wondering why some company (Canonical is probably in a unique position to do this well) doesn't sit down and either perfect gnome/kde to the point where it could be sold commercially, or if that were difficult design wise, start from scratch and build their own de which could.

It would help a lot to dispel the "cheap knockoff of windows" mentality that a lot of people seem to have about linux.

23meg
June 26th, 2007, 05:58 PM
I was wondering why some company (Canonical is probably in a unique position to do this well) doesn't sit down and either perfect gnome/kde to the point where it could be sold commercially, .

Because it doesn't make sense to sell a free DE, and many companies are already pouring big money into GNOME and KDE to "perfect" them.

It would help a lot to dispel the "cheap knockoff of windows" mentality that a lot of people seem to have about linux.

With those people that do have that mentality, no amount of work would guarantee dispelling it.