PDA

View Full Version : Gmail or Hotmail?

Amorphous_Snake
June 26th, 2007, 11:27 AM
I use a Yahoo email account. But recently I have been fed up with Yahoo. There was this very important email that I received a day later than it was sent, and ended up asking the sender to send it to a Hotmail account that I have and check every now and then.

The thing is that Gmail privacy policy freaks me out, and I don't like to have a Hotmail account because it doesn't work well with Firefox. I am writing this from PCLOS 2007 and I can't log to my Hotmail Live account as the Live mail is pretty much convinced that I am using the wrong browser.

So what are your suggestions?

Extreme Coder
June 26th, 2007, 11:38 AM
Gmail.

anaconda
June 26th, 2007, 11:39 AM
What is gmail privacy policy?? And what in it freaks you out?

I have been using gmail for a couple of years now, and am satisfied with it... shouldn't I be?

karellen
June 26th, 2007, 11:40 AM
why not both?
hotmail(live mail) works pretty well in safari beta for windows or even in firefox

Amorphous_Snake
June 26th, 2007, 11:41 AM
It's the fact that they scan your email and give you relevant ads. What about my personal emails?!!!

Amorphous_Snake
June 26th, 2007, 11:42 AM
No. I want to use only one.

luca_linux
June 26th, 2007, 11:47 AM
It's the fact that they scan your email and give you relevant ads. What about my personal emails?!!!
Yeah, but that's just for ads. At least they tell you this clearly...maybe other providers do worse without you knowing...you never know.
I like it so far.

Otherwise, if you're really concerned about this, you could buy a domain and and email account offer. ;)

karellen
June 26th, 2007, 11:48 AM
No. I want to use only one.

then go with gmail... - larger storage, better search, integrated talk, tags, pop3

steven8
June 26th, 2007, 11:49 AM