PDA

View Full Version : Should I get a Mac?

DeadSuperHero
June 22nd, 2007, 09:55 PM
Hey, folks. I'm going to bring up something I've been thinking for the past few days. I've been using Ubuntu for a couple months, and I've been seriously considering getting a MacBook Pro.
My only concerns are:
-Cost
-Quality of OSX (is it good?)
-Software (How many games are out there for Mac?)
-Quality of MacBooks? (Are they durable/reliable?)
-Emulation/Ability to run Linux apps (Third-Party recompiled files?)

It's not that I'm abandoning Ubuntu, or anything like that. I'll always have Ubuntu on my PC (it's decked out to look like OSX right now...meh), but I really want a good, quality laptop, and I've always wanted to try OSX. I've heard it's a rock-solid OS, even if it's proprietary, closed source, or otherwise.
What do you guys think?
Also, is it possible to re-compile Beryl/Compiz to run in OSX? That'd be awesome.
But, give your suggestions, experiences, etc.
Cheers,
Mr. Psychopath

EDIT: Also, if I don't like OSX, can I install Ubuntu on that?

forrestcupp
June 22nd, 2007, 10:00 PM
Why are you asking Ubuntu people this?

If it makes you happy, do it.

a12ctic
June 22nd, 2007, 10:06 PM
The macbooks are pretty durable, have a very nice price (For the hardware you're getting you probobly wont beat the price), and osx is a very nice stable os. If you dont like OSX you could install ubuntu, bsd, or even windows if you really desired to do so.

jkblacker
June 22nd, 2007, 10:08 PM
If you've got the money spare, just do it. If not, don't. Simple!

Swab
June 22nd, 2007, 10:08 PM
The macbooks are pretty durable, have a very nice price (For the hardware you're getting you probobly wont beat the price), and osx is a very nice stable os. If you dont like OSX you could install ubuntu, bsd, or even windows if you really desired to do so.

I'm sure they are good quality machines... but they are way overpriced. Similar PC hardware is much cheaper.

mips
June 22nd, 2007, 10:14 PM