PDA

View Full Version : Is Open Source Dying?

cprofitt
June 22nd, 2007, 07:41 PM
Another interesting article from eWeek.

link - http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,2148866,00.asp?kc=EWKNLENT062207STR3

I have not followed the furor over GPLv3; is it really that bad?

energiya
June 22nd, 2007, 07:44 PM
Open Source Dying?!?
DON'T THINK SO !

SendDerek
June 22nd, 2007, 07:51 PM
I'm no Linux expert, and I havn't been a user for more than 2 years, but... I think it's picking up more steam than it ever has before.

I didn't read the article, BTW. But, I know that Linus Torvald is a great "leader" and he has personally approved and supported GPLv3 to the fullest. So, that ought to say something.

r0ck80y
June 22nd, 2007, 07:52 PM
The days of Windows are almost numbered. Its clear from Vista which has nothing new and has tried copying some of the features linux and mac already have.

Crafty Kisses
June 22nd, 2007, 07:54 PM

link - http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,2148866,00.asp?kc=EWKNLENT062207STR3

The funny this is, if you actually stay on the Ubuntu forums, there's at least 10 people that Switch to Ubuntu everyday, I don't think it's dying, if anything Windows is dying.

Ultra Magnus
June 22nd, 2007, 08:00 PM
Apparently Ubuntu doubles its user base every 8 months - Some probably switch from other distros but that is quite allot of growth! So no open source isn't dying!

christhemonkey
June 22nd, 2007, 08:01 PM
But, I know that Linus Torvald is a great "leader" and he has personally approved and supported GPLv3 to the fullest.
He isnt behind the GPLv3.
Read this:
http://www.ussg.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/0601.3/0559.html

The Linux kernel is under the GPL version 2. Not anything else. Some
individual files are licenceable under v3, but not the kernel in general.

And quite frankly, I don't see that changing. I think it's insane to
require people to make their private signing keys available, for example.