PDA

View Full Version : Yahoo censoring Open Source and Linux

bonzodog
June 22nd, 2007, 04:01 PM
It seems that Yahoo Answers is trying hard to push MS solutions and more or less banning any usage of the idea of Linux or Open Source.

http://slated.org/yahoo_censoring_open_source

earobinson
June 22nd, 2007, 04:10 PM
and thats why everyone uses google.

Detonate
June 22nd, 2007, 04:24 PM
I've been using Yahoo mail for many, many years, but it's time for a change. Recently some ISP's have been blocking my email to their subscribers because it comes from a Yahoo account. They cite spam as the reason. I can correspond with some people only by using my .mil email address. Any recommendations? My ISP, via Qwest DSL is MSN so I won't be using that one for sure. Maybe I'll sign up for an IP with web hosting and use that address.

DR_K13
June 22nd, 2007, 05:28 PM
ooops, didnt see the other thread/

lingnoi
June 22nd, 2007, 05:30 PM
I've been using Yahoo mail for many, many years, but it's time for a change. Recently some ISP's have been blocking my email to their subscribers because it comes from a Yahoo account. They cite spam as the reason. I can correspond with some people only by using my .mil email address. Any recommendations? My ISP, via Qwest DSL is MSN so I won't be using that one for sure. Maybe I'll sign up for an IP with web hosting and use that address.

I just got a spam email from a yahoo account this afternoon. First time.

Back on topic. This is the company that helps the chinese government put free speech advocates in prison so it comes no suprise to me that they would censor based on their biased opinions.

Saying that Yahoo does contribute open source code and I believe the inventor of PHP and APC works on yahoo mail so I wouldn't say they are an all Microsoft shop otherwise they'd be running ASP on ISS and be a lovely poster boy for Microsoft's get the facts campaign.

Onyros
June 22nd, 2007, 05:41 PM