PDA

View Full Version : Programming

limby
June 20th, 2007, 09:29 PM
Hi im a hobbyist programmer mainly using delphi though i want to move on to c++/c#
I live in the UK

I want to take this seriously, So im thinking of taking a computeach or similar course in C++
Will this get me a job when i pass..

I Would be greatful for any support on this subject many thanks..Limby

Modred
June 20th, 2007, 10:12 PM
I personally like Deitel's How to Program: C++ for an introductory text and reference for C++. I got a third edition off of eBay for $5. Current edition is 5th, last I checked, but you could probably do fine with 3rd or later.

As for getting a job after you finish a class or something similar, I really can't say. If you've done some programming before, you might be a quick study to the new language, but that doesn't guarantee anything.

Golyadkin
June 20th, 2007, 10:22 PM
Deitels books are great yeah, I can vouch for those.

However, just knowing how to program won't really get you a job. Developing software is more than programming, you also have to learn about design and user interface design and such.My experience is that what companies want is mainly a degree in computer science, and experience on projects. It would be great if you could learn programming by helping out with open source projects. That way, you also gain experience which you can use as a portfolio when you apply for a job, and at the same time help the open source community.

pmasiar
June 21st, 2007, 02:17 AM
It is hard to tell which language to learn - learn the one used by company you want to work for :-)

Seriously, think about companies in area where you want to work, check what they use - check job boards to "feel the market". Think about summer internship in such a company - if you like it there and they like you, it will be easier to overcome your lack of experience.