PDA

View Full Version : Multiplatform RAD language

Primus
June 20th, 2007, 09:39 AM
Linux and Ubuntu Noob here. :D

Can anyone make any suggestions as to a good RAD development system that would allow me to build forms and reports for a MySQL back end database?

It would be really cool if it could create code that would run on Windows too. Maybe I am asking too much but any suggestions as to a good, robust RAD development language would be most appreciated.

I currently use MS Access for a lot of RAD work - yes I know Access has lots of problems (such as being single file and slow in busy environments) but it is an excellent RAD tool. More importantly - for me at least - it is the single remaining reason why I cannot move completely away from Windows.

I don't want to start lots of flames against Access - I know them all ;) - but suggestions as to Ubuntu alternatives would be most helpful. Thanks. :)

pmasiar
June 20th, 2007, 01:38 PM
is it web application I assume? Python and TurboGears. Cross-platform no problem.

Primus
June 20th, 2007, 02:12 PM
I was actually thinking more along the traditional lines of a client - server application without running in a web browser. However - I will take a look at TurboGears - I hadn't heard of that one before.

I am just looking to replace my current RAD development environment (MS Access) with something that is more robust and can preferably compile to both Windows and Ubuntu.

pmasiar
June 20th, 2007, 04:14 PM
with AJAX, web-based app is "almost" as responsible as traditional desktop.

Of course user need to be online, and javascript is harded to debug etc (but cross-browser libraries are emerging to solve incompatibilities) - but also you have only 1 place to deploy, upgrading and version synchronization is non-problems.

Not mentioning that with AJAX, you are fully buzzword-compliant as a bonus :-)

kknd
June 20th, 2007, 05:21 PM
Python is a good RAD language.