PDA

View Full Version : Compatability

harryfear
July 10th, 2005, 07:14 PM
Surely one of the disadvantages of a user moving from Windows to Linux is that lots of their hardware won't be compatible?

I'm new to Linux and would love to know how people overcome this problem - if they do/can?

Knome_fan
July 10th, 2005, 07:18 PM
Don't worry too much, most of your hardware should work out of the box. Of course there might be problems, but if you run into troubles just ask here and with a bit of luck you'll be able to solve them.

P.S.: A very good way to test compatability is to download and try the LiveCD.

darkmatter
July 10th, 2005, 08:08 PM
Compatability is on par with Windows in most cases, better in some.
Example: My hardware has some issues with Windows, and requires additional drivers for the chipset, etc. It's also a pain in the backside to an extent, as Windows stubbornly attempts to use it's own drivers (resulting in having to force the issue). In Linux (most cases), the hardware is supported out of box, only rarely have I had to modprobe to get something working.

As mentioned in the post before mine, get some live CD's (Knoppix, Slax, Ubuntu, etc.), and see which flavor works best on your box.

RastaMahata
July 10th, 2005, 08:18 PM
windows doesnt autodetect my nforce2 chipset (ethernet, audio). Ubuntu does, but the audio has to be fixed (just copy pasting a file, nothing else).

poofyhairguy
July 10th, 2005, 09:16 PM
Surely one of the disadvantages of a user moving from Windows to Linux is that lots of their hardware won't be compatible?

True. The worst offenders in my experiance are:

1. Newer Wireless cards (you can nerdily force it to work though)

2. Good 3D drivers (only Nvidia)

3. Some DSL modems and Winmodems

4. Webcams (kiss um goodby)

5. Some TV Cards

6. Laptop ACPI suspend for many (not mine)

7. Some serial ATA cards.

8. Some PDAs are a biotch to sync with