View Full Version : Unhappy Gentoo User

krazwerk
July 10th, 2005, 04:14 PM

krazwerk
July 10th, 2005, 04:18 PM

Seth
July 10th, 2005, 04:25 PM
I almost forgot one more thing:

I would like to contribute to a distro. Gentoo seemed a bit overwhelming for me (I've only been using Linux for a few months now). I'm a Computer Engineering student so I would like to be able to apply my knowledge to something that will benefit others.
I think Ubuntu would be your dream. You get easy updates through synaptic (without the compiling of emerge), and it's easy to get involved at every level. You can learn how to make backports for Ubuntu in an afternoon with little difficulty, or visit the IRC room and give end-user support. Then of course the forums here have a vibrant community ready to help you out with any problems you may face.

If you haven't tried a Debian child distribution before, Ubuntu will wow you :)

krazwerk
July 10th, 2005, 04:35 PM
Wow! I wasn't expecting such a speedy Sunday morning reply. :)

I have a friend who is trying to convert me to Ubuntu... he says it's the best distro he's ever used.

The thing that draws me to Ubuntu so much is the idea that it's a Linux distrobution "for everyone". I like the idea of making Linux a little more user-friendly. Gentoo people seem to think that the more archaic the distro is the better.

Seth
July 10th, 2005, 04:47 PM
Wow! I wasn't expecting such a speedy Sunday morning reply. :)

I have a friend who is trying to convert me to Ubuntu... he says it's the best distro he's ever used.

The thing that draws me to Ubuntu so much is the idea that it's a Linux distrobution "for everyone". I like the idea of making Linux a little more user-friendly. Gentoo people seem to think that the more archaic the distro is the better.