PDA

View Full Version : What was your very first Linux distro?

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 05:17 PM
I was just looking at the cool looking tree of Linux distros on the wikipedia page (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_distribution) and I was wondering what was everyones first Linux distro.

Has anyone ever used MCC interim or SLS or any other now long dead Linux distro - I found a book in a public library about sco linux which made me laugh (at least to myself).

Bachstelze
June 18th, 2007, 05:18 PM
I'm relatively new to Linux (being relatively young), my first one was Debian Slink, in 1999.

gvoima
June 18th, 2007, 05:19 PM
I first started using debian in full day server use, don't really remember when :)
Quite some time ago...
But before that I only tried quickly other distros (10-20min of use).

ThinkBuntu
June 18th, 2007, 05:21 PM
Ubuntu. I was curious, so I looked into Linux distros I found on Wikipedia last November, and it gave me the impression that this was the most popular distro. I then read reviews via DW, and found quotes such as "you'd have to be living under a rock to have not heard about Ubuntu" and "Ubuntu's only been around a couple years, hard to believe, it's taken the linux world by storm," etc. etc.

I'm using Ubuntu now, but there have been a whole bunch of distros I've used over the past seven months.

tribaal
June 18th, 2007, 05:22 PM
Started with Debian... can't really remember when. Probably around '97.
Switched to SuSE after only a few weeks (I was having trouble installing Debian), then back to Debian after a few month, and stuck with it until two years ago, when I installed Ubuntu :)

- trib'

mthakur2006
June 18th, 2007, 05:25 PM