PDA

View Full Version : Open Source/Free Software

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 04:23 PM
Hi.

First off I just want to make absolutely clear that this is in no way any kind of flame bait!

I know that there is allot of politics involved with "free software" vs "Open Source", personally I like open source for the technical reasons - I'm a physics undergraduate and open source appeals to me because it seems the more scientific way to develop software - (sharing knowledge and peer review etc), but I don't see it as in free speech, software should be open source because it is the better way of doing things but it isn't a fundamental freedom to be able to view the source code.

Given that free speech is something allot of countries don't have, doesn't it trivialise it to equate free software with free speech?

Anyway - like i said, this isn't flame bait - just interested in peoples views, as there is allot of politics floating around in the open source world - and don't get me wrong, I believe that everyone should be able to find out how things work, but on reading the GNU website it just seems a bit out of proportion.

Thanks

Jim

justin whitaker
June 18th, 2007, 04:33 PM
Hi.

First off I just want to make absolutely clear that this is in no way any kind of flame bait!

I like my flame baiting posters medium rare, whoever is manning (or womanning) the grill.

I know that there is allot of politics involved with "free software" vs "Open Source", personally I like open source for the technical reasons - I'm a physics undergraduate and open source appeals to me because it seems the more scientific way to develop software - (sharing knowledge and peer review etc), but I don't see it as in free speech, software should be open source because it is the better way of doing things but it isn't a fundamental freedom to be able to view the source code.