PDA

View Full Version : Freespace for Linux

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 01:07 PM
I know this is probably very old news - but I'm new to Linux. I'm not a big gamer but I love Freespace and I just found out that there is a Linux port! - I am overjoyed.

Freespace (despite its age) is still the best space combat game I have ever played - anyone else love Freespace?

Jim

beefcurry
June 18th, 2007, 01:10 PM
should really be in the Gaming and Leisure forum http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=93 .

But no, never tried Freespace. But will now :)

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 01:20 PM
Sorry - how do I move it to the gaming forum?

Tomosaur
June 18th, 2007, 01:29 PM
A mod will probably move it themselves in a little while.

As for Freespace, I've never played it. I've played Freelancer though, is Freespace in any way related to that?

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 01:52 PM
I don't think so, freespace 2 is well older - I think 98 or something - (The graphics were really good for its time though) - The storyline is something along the lines of babylon 5 -

You have people from earth (terrans), an initially hostile but soon to be friendly alien race (vasudans), an ancient race of evil aliens (shivans) and a mysterious ancient alien race (er...called the ancients) - One of the best things about the game is the plot - I won't give it away because for whoever plays it the ending (of both 1 and 2) is brilliant!

prizrak
June 18th, 2007, 01:53 PM
Freespace was cool but the best space combat game is the Wing Commander series, closely followed by StarLancer (made by same people actually).

Ultra Magnus
June 18th, 2007, 02:13 PM
I've only ever played wing commander 1 - and that was way back (SNES?) but I recall thinking that it was pretty awesome - Starlancer was alright but some missions were *very* hard - I don't think I actually completed it, the mulitplayer mode was cool though!