PDA

View Full Version : I'm a disapointed with our Ubuntu community

Turboaaa2001
June 17th, 2007, 04:04 AM
About 2 years ago I started using Ubuntu off and on. I love how simple it is and how easy it is to master. I am a PC Tech that LOVES hardware and knows allot about the Windows OS, but I wanted more. I wanted to be free of one individual company that controlled my software and hardware usage.

When I really started to use Ubuntu of late is when I came into the Linux community by entering into forums for help and advise. Here I HAVE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE:D with getting help and having friendly people to walk me through the most simplest of tasks. I love it here, so please don't judge me with what I'm about to say, just help me to understand and point me to the proof to prove my observations wrong (if they are)

I am very disappointed with our community. Not that we are bad people or that we are mean or nasty, but in the way we develop.:(

I have seen several individuals who practice what we should be doing, but in every forum I have entered the majority always fall into this category and that is:
"Always talking about things that can be done and should be done to better what we do, but then never do it."](*,)

Ubuntu is designed to be an easy-to-use Linux distro that can go mainstream into your parents houses. And yet we sit here talking amongst our selfs and not sharing what we know. Do you know how hard it was to convince my parents (mom) to try Ubuntu for a month with a separate hard drive? Their just starting to get used to it because it does EVERYTHING Windows did.:shock:

Why are we keeping the "Holy Grail" to ourselves and not sharing it? We need to be the salesmen (and saleswomen) for Ubuntu because they are giving it to us for FREE. That means there is no budget for PR or Advertisements. I even have the chance to show Ubuntu to several friends of mine, they have never heard of a free OS before.:|